Product Review – Gardein Savory Stuffed Turk’y

I tend to stock up on freezer items when they are on sale. I get these for three reasons, either to have something on hand for The BF, myself if I haven’t cooked, or to try something new. This met two of those criteria. The BF came down and was hungry and I wanted to try out this new Gardein item. The package had two turk’ys in it along with a gravy packet. Note: you need to cook both or be okay with only eating one of them with gravy and the other without as there is only one gravy packet.

I did the combo cooking instructions where I cooked them for 2 minutes in the microwave and then into the toaster oven for about 15ish minutes.

Smelled good, looked good. Time to try it. I took two bites and had to stop. It tasted too much like actual turkey for me. It totally freaked me out and I spit out the second bite. The BF loved them. I loved the gravy (really good gravy!). I think this item is great for any new vegans, anyone who enjoys their mock meats, or for some omni friends/family. For those of you who don’t want to taste something remotely similiar to dead animal (as I like to say) back away from this item.

A note on the cooking, although the time took a while it came out crispy and cooked well. I think this item is definitely one you plan to make for someone and not something to have for a “quick” meal (read: under 5minutes)…although in the grand sense, it’s pretty quick. Freezer to table in under 20 minutes.

Cost $3.00

Overall rating: 4 piggies (I know I didn’t like it, but overall texture, cooking, presentation all rocked…it was just too similar for me…so flavor was great if you don’t mind that turkey taste…and that gravy really was fab!)

2 Comments »

  1. cmhabibi said

    I haven’t tried their stuffed turkey. That sounds good! I’ve been vegetarian for almost 8 years (vegan for almost 2), but I still like the mock meats sometimes, :-P though the smell of real meat is starting to gross me out (unless it’s covered in a ton of seasonings). I guess 19 years of priming is hard to break. Most mock meat tastes “mock” to me anyway.

  2. My younger daughter, who was the first in my family to become a vegetarian (followed by me and then my older daughter), once said, “If I’m not going to eat meat, why would I eat fake meat?”

    It made too much sense :) but I have stepkids who aren’t vegetarians and the meat analogs come in handy for creating a meal everyone can enjoy together. Thanks for the review.

    @BarbChamberlain

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

