A Vegan Thanksgiving

This was the first year I made a Vegan Thanksgiving for more than just myself, which instantly made me nervous. I’m fairly easy to please with my own cooking…I mean, I cooked it, I typically like it! I was very hopefully that my non-vegan friends would enjoy the dinner. I also made enough for leftovers since we’d be joining a friends family for Thanksgiving on Saturday.

The Dinner Menu:

Tofurky (I took the easy way out on this, next year I’ll make my own main dish!)

Gravy

Poppyseed Dinner Rolls (Based on my mom’s recipe)Roasted Green BeansGarlic Mashed Potatoes

Candied Yams (My Grandmothers Recipe) ~ Which is the one thing I did not get a solo picture of!

The Desserts:

Apple Cake (From the Joy of Vegan Baking)Blueberry Crumble

Pumpkin Pie ~ to be made for my Saturday Thanksgiving

Overall dinner was very good. The everyone really like it. I was shocked (okay, pleased) to see that only two tiny slices of tofurky were left over for me for Saturday. I cooked just enough food so I’d have my leftovers for Saturday dinner, everyone got a little take home desserts, and everyone was full. It was truly a great Thanksgiving. Although, next year, I think I might do a Thanksgiving themed breakfast buffet instead. We’ll see.

I’ll be making my pumpkin pie tonight and I cannot wait. Also, I’ll get recipes posted for everything over the next week or so. I hope everyone else had a great Thanksgiving too!

2 Comments »

  1. Christine Czarnecki said

    The Apple Cake looks wonderful!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

