Chicago Diner

A month ago I went to Cleveland for the Ray’s Womens Weekend and on our way home we stopped by the Chicago Diner to chow down on some pretty wonderful food. I was brilliant and forgot my camera, so these pictures are from my phone (oopps!)

Black Bean Taquitos – the sauces that came with it were amazing! I was disappointed that there was only one taquito per person though.

For my meal I had the Dagwood Sandwich (Seitan roast & corned “beef”, “bacon” & cheeze, with lettuce, tomato, onion, pepperoncini & spicy sauce on a hoagie.) with a side of Mac’n Cheeze! The sandwich rocked, and yes, I ate it ALL!

Dagwood Sandwich w/ Mac'n Cheese

One of my friends, Jeanne, had the Avocado Tostadas (Spiced black beans, seasoned quinoa, grilled vegetables, avocado slices on corn tortillas with chimichurri, a cilantro based Argentinean salsa). Yeah, that looked pretty darn good too. I never sampled her’s, but I trust is was wonderful…she cleaned her plate!

Black Bean & Quinoa Tostada

My other friend, Sonia, had the Polenta Lasagna (Oven baked herbed cornmeal, layered with vegan basil cream filling, topped with sauteéd vegetables & marinara). I did score a sample of this and it was incredible. We all commented that we’ve never been able to get our polenta so…well tender I guess, it was soft and full of flavor. Wow, this dish is totally something worth getting!

Polenta Lasanga with Tofu Cream

Jeanne went for the Lemon Coconut Cake and normally I’m all about the Chicago Diner cakes…but this one was a touch dry. Good flavor, but just not like I’ve normally had.

Lemon Coconut Cake

Sonia had the Snickerdoodle cookie. The best part came when our server asked if she’s like it warmed up. Sonia’s eyes got all bright…answer “Yes please!” Who doesn’t love a good warm cookie!

Almond Snickerdoodle

I opted for one of the specials…Mexican Lava Cake. Awesome, I wanted to lick my plate clean.

Chocolate Lava Cake with Cinnamon Chocolate Sauce

Leave a Reply

