Cooking for the Dad

While visiting my Dad I got a chance to make him breakfast. Which was super simple and, of course, really good! I made the Oatmeal Banana Waffles from Vegan with a Vengence (although my Dad does not like banana’s, so I subbed soy yogurt for the banana’s) and then I made a simple tofu scramble of onions, garlic, mushrooms, spinach, nutritional yeast, salt, pepper, basil. I can’t say I know the measurements of what went into the scramble, just everything to taste! The Dad loved it all so that made me feel pretty darn good.

Oatmeal Waffles & Scramble

For Easter dinner, which we did on Friday night, I made two recipes from Veganomicon. The Sauteed Seitan with Mushrooms and Spinach, and the Herbed Scalloped Potatoes.

V'Con Sauteed Seitan with Spinach & Mushrooms, Herbed Scalloped Potatoes

The Scalloped Potatoes sauce didn’t thicken as much as I would have liked. The flavor rocked though, so next time I’ll add about 1-2 tbsp flour to the soymilk and see how that goes.

Dessert was my first attempt at Spice Cake. It failed, but I think I know why. First the cupcakes didn’t rise enough (I think too much liquid), second I used Maple Syrup for my sugar and should ahve used Agave…the flavor of the maple sort of took over. Here’s the recipe I used and I listed my modifications I’ll try next time. Oh…and I frosted it with the Cream Cheese Frosting from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over The World (always rockin’):

Spice Cake Cupcakes

Recipe:

1 1/4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp ginger

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp cloves

Sift the above together and then stir in the below until combined:

1/2 cup canola oil

1/3 cup molasses (change to 1/4 cup)

1/2 cup maple syrup (use agave next time, same amount)

1/4 cup unsweetened soymilk

2 tbsp soy yogurt

Heat the oven to 350F and bake about 20-25 minutes. Top with the frosting of your choice, but really, the cream cheese frosting is the best.

Leave a Reply

