Travel – Chicago – El Tinajon

Saturday night some friends (Sonia & Carlos)  of mine were in town for the weekend and we met up for dinner at El Tinajon, for some amazing Guatemalan food! I started the night out right with a mango margarita.

image

Then moved on to the corn tamals, filled with black beans.
imageThe BF got the vegetarian burrito (sans cheese and sour cream) which made it vegan. It came with rice and refried black beans.
imageI had a combo platter. I don’t remember which number it was, I believe the 6th or 7th one on the vegetarian menu. We discussed with the server what was vegan or not and I ended up with (from left to right) Veggie Enchillada, Fried Plantains, Potato Taco, Corn Tamal, and Refried Black Beans.
image

The enchilada was definitely different from any I have had before, that’s because in Guatemala, this is an enchilada. I have to say, I loved it. All the food was awesome and I plan to go back!

1 Comment »

  1. Noelle said

    This all looks very delicious! I need to keep this place in mind for the next time I go to Chicago!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

