Vegan MoFo 2010 – Day 4 – Bathroom Products: Toothpaste

This year I have been transitioning to a vegan lifestyle – meaning I want all vegan products. I still have some work to do on this since I own several pair of non-vegan shoes (they’re all PV = pre-vegan) and I’ve decided to use them until they’ve either worn out or I’ve bought a replacement for them and, in turn, donated the item. Everyone has their own opinions on this matter and to each their own. This is the way I’m handling the situation.

With my transition I wanted to share with everyone something I rarely do – something other than food – for starters: The Bathroom.

I decided to try Tom’s of Maine toothpaste. The flavor (spearmint gel) sounded good and I love the Tom’s of Maine “What Makes a Product Good?”:

image

Additionally I wanted a toothpaste with added fluoride, whitening, and tartar protection. Whitening – because I drink coffee and tea, everything else, because it’s a good idea. I shop at Whole Foods for my bathroom related products.

image

Cost: $4.99 for 5.5oz

Thoughts: Great flavor, teeth feel clean, no mega morning breath in the morning either. I haven’t noticed any increased staining on my teeth due to my coffee/tea consumption…in fact my teeth feel cleaner and look whiter since I’ve been using this toothpaste. Overall my dental health is good (read: my dentist says I have great teeth, we’re just fixing some old issues from back in college – replacing fillings, etc. But nothing new since the switch at the beginning of this year =)

Overall rating: 4 piggies

2 Comments »

  1. organarchy said

    Great idea to review vegan non-food items! Happy MoFo’ing!

  2. Meredith said

    I love Tom’s of Maine toothpaste, too! And I adore your piggy rating system, the image made me smile.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

